jka brighton queensland logo
Watch 26 Kata Clips by Soon Pretorius.    (Click top-right icon to see playlist)

Shotokan Kata List

Taikyoku Shodan:  First Cause (20 moves)

Heian: Peaceful Mind

• Heian Shodan: peaceful mind level one (21 moves)
• Heian Nidan: peaceful mind level two (26 moves)
• Heian Sandan: peaceful mind level three (20 moves)
• Heian Yondan: peaceful mind level four (27 moves)
• Heian Godan: peaceful mind level five (23 moves)

Tekki:  Iron Horse

• Tekki Shodan: iron horse level one (29 moves)
• Tekki Nidan: iron horse level two (24 moves)
• Tekki Sandan: iron horse level three (36 moves)

Advanced Katas

• Bassai Dai: (penetrating the fortress, dai-big/greater ) The strong techniques of this kata emphasize hip movement. Some resemble a battering ram being used against fortress walls. (42 moves)

• Bassai Sho: ( penetrating the fortress, sho-lesser ) This kata was derived from bassai-dai. It has a similar performance line. (27 moves)

• Empi: (flying swallow) The quick up and down movements of this kata are reminiscent of a flying swallow. Empi is one of the oldest kata in Shotokan. (37 moves)

• Jion: (love and goodness) Jion is a term in Buddhism. It is also the name of a temple in China. It uses basic stances and techniques. It is one of the most traditional kata in Shotokan. ( 47 moves)

• Kanku Dai: (to view the sky/heavens, big) Most of the elements of the Heian katas were derived from this kata. The first movement in this kata views the sky, which symbolises the universe and shows your opponent that you are unarmed. (65 moves)

• Kanku Sho: (to view the sky, small/lesser) Kanku Sho was created from Kanku Dai. The movement and performance lines are similar. (48 moves)

• Hangetsu: (half/crescent moon) This kata received it’s name from it’s principal stance, hangetsu dachi, half moon stance. (41 moves)

• Goju Shi Ho Dai: (fifty-four steps, big) This kata is one of the most advanced kata of Shotokan. Master Funakoshi called it hotaku, knocking of a woodpecker, because some of the techniques resemble a woodpecker tapping it’s beak against a tree. (67 moves)

• Goju Shi Ho Sho: (fifty-four steps, small) This is a smaller version of Goju Shi Ho Dai. It is also one of the most advanced kata of Shotokan. (65 moves)

• Jiín: ( love and shadow) Jiin is another term in Buddhism. It has similar techniques and performance lines as Jihon. (38 moves)

• Jitte: (ten hands) The goal of this kata is to teach a student to fight against 10 opponents. This is a strong kata and also has movements repelling a bo attack. (24 moves)

• Meikyo: (polished mirror) The first movements of the kata suggest the smoothing of the water to make it as calm and even as a mirror. Some movements suggest a mirror image of previous movements and the triangle jump at the end is unique to this kata. (33 moves)

• Niju Shi Ho: (twenty-four steps) The movements in this kata resemble waves breaking on a cliff. Displays fluidity and flexibility of movement. (34 moves)

• Wankan: (king/emperors crown) The shortest kata in Shotokan. (24 moves)

• Gankaku: (crane on a rock) The main stance in the kata (tsuruashi dachi) resembles a crane ready to strike at it’s prey. (42 moves)

• Sochin: (strength and calmness) The name of this kata comes from it’s stance (sochin dachi) a strong deep rooted stance. (41 moves)

• Chinte: (rare hand) This kata has a lot of circular and roundhouse movements. These are rare and not typical of the shortest distance between two points concept of Shotokan. (32 moves)

• Unsu: (cloud hands) Unsu has several techniques that symbolise parting the clouds with open hands. It is also one of the most advanced of the Shotokan katas. (48 moves)